International Steering Committee (ISC)


Dr. Kandeh K. Yumkella, Special Representative of the Secretary-General and Chief Executive of Sustainable Energy for All

Dr. Kandeh Yumkella is the Special Representative for Sustainable Energy for All and the Chief Executive responsible for the planning and implementation of the Sustainable Energy for All initiative. Effective July 2013, Dr. Yumkella leads the overall coordination of the initiative and oversees the work of the Global Facilitation Team (GFT), as well as the operations at various locations including the Thematic and Regional hubs.

Prior to his appointment, Dr. Kandeh Yumkella served two terms as the Director General of the United Nations Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO), first in December 2005 and then upon re-election in 2009. He has previously held various high-level positions in UNIDO, including the Special Adviser to two former Directors-General and the Director of the Africa and Least Developed Countries Regional Bureau. Under his leadership, UNIDO became the largest provider of trade-related technical assistance to developing countries in the United Nations system.

Dr. Kandeh Yumkella has also chaired the UN-Energy since 2008, convening UN organizations working on energy issues. As its Chairman, he brought a renewed focus to global energy issues and also helped in coordinating the UN response to such issues. From 2008 to 2010, he chaired the Secretary-General's Advisory Group on Energy and Climate Change (AGECC), highlighting the lack of access to energy as a crucial constraint for development efforts. The Group's report, which was issued in April 2010, confirmed the need to increase energy access, energy efficiency and renewable energy options in order to address the climate change challenge and realize the Millennium Development Goals.

Prior to working for UNIDO, he was the Minister for Trade, Industry and State Enterprises of the Republic of Sierra Leone from 1994-1995. Between 1987 and 1996, while furthering his studies, he held various academic positions at the Michigan State University and the University of Illinois.

Dr. R. K. Pachauri, Director General, TERI

Dr. R.K. Pachauri has been the Chief Executive of TERI since 1981, designated initially as the Director and since April 2001 as the Director-General. Since 1998, he has also been the Chancellor, TERI University. In April 2002, he was elected as the Chairman of the Inter-governmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), which was established by the World Meteorological Organization and the United Nations Environment Programme in 1988. IPCC, along with the former Vice President Al Gore, has been awarded the Nobel Peace Prize for the year 2007. Dr. Pachauri was the Senior Adviser to Yale Climate and Energy Institute (YCEI) from July 2012 through June 2014, prior to which he was the Founding Director of YCEI (July 2009 – June 2012). He has a PhD in Industrial Engineering and Economics. He has been on several international and national committees including a membership of the Economic Advisory Council to the Prime Minister of India. He has also been the Advisory Board on Energy (ABE) which reported directly to the Prime Minister of India, the Senior Advisor to the Administrator of the United Nations Development Programme and several others. He has been the President (1988) and the Chairman (1989-90) of the International Association for Energy Economics (IAEE). He has been the President of the Asian Energy Institute since 1992. In April 1999, he was appointed as the Member of the Board of Directors of the Institute for Global Environmental Strategies, Japan and held this appointment till April 2012. He has been active in several international forums dealing with the subject of climate change and its policy dimensions. Dr. Pachauri was awarded the ‘Padma Bhushan’ in 2001 by the President of India and was also bestowed with the “Officier De La Légion D’Honneur” by the Government of France in 2006. He was conferred with the “Padma Vibhushan”, the second highest civilian award, for his services in the field of science and engineering in January 2008 by the President of India. He was also conferred with the ‘Commander of the Order of Leopold II’ by the King of the Belgians in July 2009; the ‘Commander of the Order of the White Rose of Finland’ by the Prime Minister of Finland in February, 2010, ‘The Order of the Rising Sun, Gold and Silver Star’ by His Majesty Akihito, Emperor of Japan in April 2010 and Mexican Order of the ‘Aztec Eagle’ by the President of Mexico in June 2012.